How Long Does an Insurance Company Have to Pay My Homeowner’s Claim?
At The Morgan Law Group P.A., our Louisiana, Mississippi, California, and Puerto Rico, Florida insurance claims attorneys know that when our clients file homeowners’ claims after suffering hurricane, flood, or fire damage, they expect to be made whole again right away.
Unfortunately, insurance companies across the nation are infamous for delaying, undervaluing, and denying damage claims, leaving homeowners frustrated by their responses.
The reality is, while the filing process is similar, there is no overarching federal law that stipulates a payout timeframe. Different states have different timelines to respond to homeowners’ insurance claims, and they often prefer to use the time they have to build a less than desirable response.
Here is what our clients need to know about the mandatory response times in their locations.
How Long Does a Florida Insurance Company Have to Pay My Homeowner’s Claim?
Florida Legislation states, for most Florida insurance claims, insurers must decide within a 90-day period. Policyholders should receive a notice that their claims were approved or denied within this timeframe.
How Long Does a Louisiana Insurance Company Have to Pay My Homeowner’s Claim?
Louisiana Legislation states insurance companies in Louisiana do not have a specific timeframe in which they must settle a claim after it is filed, however, all insurers shall make a written offer to settle any property damage claim, including a third-party claim, within thirty days after receipt of satisfactory proofs of loss of that claim. Prior to that, they are only required to act “reasonably promptly.”
How Long Does a Mississippi Insurance Company Have to Pay My Homeowner’s Claim?
Mississippi Legislation states, insurance companies in Mississippi must acknowledge a claim within 15 days, but the state does not specify a separate timeframe in which the insurance company must actually approve or deny the claim during this process. The law only mandates that it be done in “reasonable time.”
How Long Does a California Insurance Company Have to Pay My Homeowner’s Claim?
California Legislation states insurers in California have 40 days to either accept or deny a claim. However, insurers can request additional time, but must notify the policyholder every 30 days about the status of their claim. Once insurers accept a claim and agree to a payout, payment must be issued no more than 30 days later. This stipulation does not apply when the policy “provides for a waiting period after acceptance of claim and before payment of benefits.”
How Long Does a Puerto Rico Insurance Company Have to Pay My Homeowner’s Claim?
Puerto Rico Legislation states insurance companies in Puerto Rico are required to acknowledge a written claim and start their investigation within 15 days. The investigation, adjustment, and resolution of the claim must be performed in the “shortest reasonable period of time”, not to exceed 90 days from the claim filing.
At The Morgan Law Group, P.A., our experienced homeowners’ insurance claims attorneys represent clients throughout California, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Puerto Rico, because we know that despite the laws in each location, insurance companies will do all they can to delay, undervalue, or deny hardworking policyholders’ claims.
We can help pursue the best possible outcome for your unique homeowner’s claim, starting with a free consultation today. If we do not win your case, you do not pay our legal fees.
Contact our experienced insurance claims attorneys by calling 888-904-2524 to schedule a free consultation and learn how we can help you pursue the outcome you deserve from your insurance policy without further delay.
- Homeowner’s insurance and water damage claims
- 4 reasons why you need a lawyer for homeowner’s insurance disputes
- 5 things you should know if your home insurance claim has been denied
- An overview of homeowners’ insurance in Florida
- What’s the difference between a home warranty & homeowners’ insurance?
- Why does your homeowners’ insurance go up every year?
- When can my homeowner’s association file an insurance claim?